Five Minute Friday: Connected

Rather late,  but nevertheless joining in with:

  1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
  2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
  3. Most important: visit, comment, encourage the person before you.

OK, are you ready? Give me your best five minutes on

CONNECTED

As sad as it is, it immediately reminds me of the opposite: disconnect…

Why?

Because that it one of the first things that happen when I drop or glide into depression.  Which happened several weeks ago.

THe first thing is a disconnect with my body – which result in excess sleeping and messing up my sleep-wake cycle;  eating habits go down the drain,  I either eat everything I can find or I don;t know what to eat and therefore hardly eat anything at all;  I don;t see the purpose of personal hygiene.

The last one is something I am ashamed of… and I do have to add that if I go out to meet with people, I will take a shower and brush my teeth.  It takes a huge amount of effort but it is fuelled by shame.

Also,  I isolate myself.  Don;t feel like connecting to anyone.  There are only a few that I will be in touch with and I am grateful for these people (you know who you are!) because somehow I feel safe enough to show myself even when I am a mess.  If it gets worse,  though,  I do a disappearing act…

Photo credit

Connectedness – regardless of depression it is something I have to work hard on. And I am proud to say that I am doing so much better that even a year ago.

I like to be connected.  The ‘me’ that is caught inside when depressed,  loves to be with people.  Being an introvert, I definitely need my down time, but I have discovered that I like talking to strangers.  Just a little compliment,  remark or comment.

The interesting thing is that I have come to know that my father liked to do his round in the village he lived in the last years of his life.  He was doing his daily round talking to all those he passed on his way.

It is makes me feel connected with him that, when I am doing well, I am like him and enjoy the connection with the random and neighbouring people around me!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

