Five Minute Friday… Home!

It’s Friday and I am linking up with Gypsy Mama again.

So.  Paint a verbal picture.

In just five minutes.

To just write and not worry if it’s just righte or not.

      1.  Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
        2.   Link back and invite others to join in.
        3.

Get a little crazy with encouragement for the five minuter who linked up before you.And for added fun Gypsy Mama always throws something special into the pot.  So hop over to her blog (click on the above button) to see what it is and to link up!

OK, are you ready? Give me your best five minutes for the prompt:

Home…

START

Photo Credit: CarbonNYC

Home… was the place I didn’t know how to get away from fast enough as a teenager.

Home never felt like ‘home’ – as in a safe and warm place.

Home – a word I avoided to use once I had left the place where my parents lived.

It was never home to me.  Especially since right after I moved out my parents changed my room and when I came back the first time to visit it wasn’t my room anymore. It looked like a hospital room, all white. It was horrible!

So what is home to me?

Home is where those people are who love me unconditionally. It doesn’t mean that they accept crappy behavior, but they accept me as I am. They will call me to order when necessary and put me up and take care of me when I need it.  This soemtimes quite literally.

Photo credit: Nono Fara

Home is where you can put your feet up and be yourself, without any fear for being judged.

Home is love and acceptance, freedom and forgiveness, grace and humiliation.

I don’t just have one home,  I have many.  Home is shattered all over the place and even all over the world.  Home can be created in a second where hearts meet and recognize each other.  Home is knowing that you are welcome and wanted. Home is to know and let yourself be known.

STOP

Wow – I could go on and on once I got going.  Interesting!

Now it is your turn😉

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Five Minute Friday… Home!

  1. Sarah R

    thanks for leaving me a comment! what a small world – that you are dutch, and i am sort-of dutch.🙂 my family moved to Amsterdam when I was 13, i was almost 17 when I left again, but i have returned often and pretty much consider it “home.” my parents live in Heemstede now, but are hoping to return to the US to live later this year. then i will really be confused as to where home is.🙂
    i also have recently come to know some people with bi-polar disorder. i struggle to know how best to love and support them.
    nice to “meet” you!

    • Hi Sarah, thanks for visiting back! I found the link to your father’s website – very interesting!
      It is not easy to find out how to support someone with bipolar disorder – but I truly hope that you find some answers on my blog. If you have any particular questions, I’d love it if you ask me, since I (and my readers) will learn more from you! Either thru the comments or if you like it more private thru my “Contact me” page on top.
      Hope to hear from you!

  2. I love this: “Home is to know and let yourself be known.” That’s so true! My family house certainly never met that description either. It was where I felt known the least. Something I’ve realized more and more as I see the ways this issue of home (and family) not being a safe place to know and be known bubbles up in so many other areas of my life. But we do have the chance to make our own homes as adults–even here, on the Internet.🙂

    • Sharone – you are so right! Unfortunately, the consequences of having grown up in an unsafe home we still feel later in life in many different areas. But it is also true that as adults we make our own homes and can learn to respond differently to our feelings of home-lessness, if you know what I mean. Also, it is possible to have our hurt feelings healed! Many blessings on your journey! I can identify as I walk mine😉

  3. JDaniel4's Mom

    This is so well said. Home really is a place where you can rest, grow, feel love and learn.

  4. I get such a clear picture of you with your feet up, laughing, enjoying the people who are your home.

    I also get a picture of the home you provide for your bunnies. What a gift to cuddle and reassure the one who is shy.

    Hope you’re getting more energy every day!

    • Thanks Lena!
      I love my bunnies – it is so great to have something living in my house. Also it is very therapeutic at times for me. I love kitties too, but didn’t want to go thru raising one properly again (going potty, not eating plants, not destroying furniture etc.) as I have done in Ukraine. Hence the bunnies😉

  5. Fenny,

    My turn? I can’t top that! Your post is like a poem, I love it!

    I always avoided defining “home” because I didn’t really know what it was. With your definition it becomes clear to me that home is wherever I am loved and accepted. Where I feel safe. It could be anywhere.

    ~Allie

    • Allie – don’t be too sure about that! Every time I do this ‘free-writing’ the outcome has surprised me. Definitely something I could recommend doing. You don’t have to publicize it, you know? And it takes just 5 minutes…

      I always avoided the word ‘home’ because of the association it left me with. So at first I thought: nah, I’ll pass this one. But now I like it that I have new thoughts connected with this word!

  6. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Home « How To Fight Like A Girl

Leave a Reply

