When seasons change…

Today I am joining The Gypsy Mama for the first time for her Five Minute Friday:

Got five minutes? Let’s write. Let’s write in shades of real and brave and unscripted.  Let’s just write and not worry if it’s just right or not.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word.

2. Link back at The Gypsy Mama and invite others to join in.

3. Go buck wild with encouragement for the five minuter who linked up before you.

OK,  are you ready? This week’s prompt is brought to you by twitter.  Or at least, by the responses I got on twitter when I asked for suggestions. Thanks Lindsey for this great one.  Or as we would say in Afrikaans,  Baie dankie (pronounced “Buy a donkey” I kid you not!)

Give me your best five minutes for the prompt:

When seasons change….

BEGIN

Seasons… There are so many seasons. The seasons of life, the four seasons of the weather in the Netherlands, the four seasons in music by Vivaldi (if I am not mistaken), the seasons of the water, as in the flow of low and high tide.

And there are the seasons of moods for the bipolar person.

Seasons when you feel depressed and you can’t get out of bed, let alone take a shower and get dressed. Your house or sometimes your bedroom is the only place to be. Your bed the savest place on earth.

It is like a cocoon, where a caterpillar is hiding for the long wait for the rebirth into something completely different.

There are seasons when you are overenthousiastic and hyper active, talking peoples heads of while their ears have already fallen to the ground. The world is your oyster and everything seems possible.

It is like being a butterfly, roaming to and fro, free and without a care in the world.

And always the movement between the caterpillar – the cocoon – the butterfly, back and forth, back and forth, wave after wave, riding it out and finding yourself still alive after all.

Enjoying the beauty of every season.

STOP

Ok, your turn….!!

Photo credit:  internets_dairy

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “When seasons change…

  1. Thank you for this brief glimpse into what it is like to experience the ups and downs of bipolar disorder. So many different things in life with different seasons.

  2. Your imagery is so apt! I love it, especially this: ” talking peoples heads of while their ears have already fallen to the ground.” I also like what you say about riding out seasons and realizing that you’ve lived through them. There’s so much beauty in that kind of unrealized strength.

    Thank you for sharing.🙂

    • Aw Sharone, thank you for visting and taking the time to let me know what you specifically like about this post. That is truly encouraging to me! Especially as I hopped over to your blog ~ you are a gifted writer, I simply love the imaginations you use & how smooth your sentences run. Loving me some good quality writer/writing! Thanks for finding me, so I could find you🙂

  3. Amazing!! I loved reading this. I am a teacher and I had a bipolar student a year ago. I can so totally relate and I wish everyone could get a glimpse of their lives are like. LOVED THIS!! Hope you link up again next week.

    • Lane, thank you so much for your insight, it’s always so encouraging to me if people recognize what I write about or say: ah, finally I understand what it is, or I understand the person with bipolar in my life better. I feel humbled and encouraged when that happens. This was my first attempt and I hope to catch it every Friday. At first it felt rather daunting writing like this…
      Hopping over to your site, I’ve glimpsed already, it looks very neat and cute!!

  4. mom

    Not all seasons are the same, and not everyone’s view of the seasons is the same, thank you for sharing your unique view of your seasons.

    • Thanks for visiting and commenting! It’s so true we are each unique with our unique experiences, that makes life so interesting, I love it!

  5. Holy Shi… Well done! There is beautiful imagery and remarkable peace with the inevitable tides of one’s life with bipolar. You are truly an inspiration🙂.

  6. Having been around quite a few people with bipolar, I think that your explanation is beautiful and sorrowful all at the same time. I think it is great that you have found a place in this blog to write out your life/heart and to give others, like myself, a window into your life and others that deal with bipolar.

    Great to find you through Five Minute Friday….thanks for stopping by my blog!

  7. Lindsay, thanks for visitng my blog and for your insightful comment. Even though BD looks different for each of us, there are so mnay common threads so you indeed pick those up easier since you have seen it happen before your eyes. Hope you friends are doing well and leading extraordinairy lives and not settling for anyhting less😉
    I love it you caught on the sorrow and the beauty🙂

    • BTW Lindsay, do you have Dutch ancestors? Cuz you last name? Totally Dutch! How do you pronounce it over there? Here we’d say:
      van Niekerk: V as in vanity- A as in …well, that’s adifficult one :)- N as in no / N as in no- IE as in niece- K=C as in cat- E as in cAt- R as in rat- and again K=C as in cat. Well, whatever!….

      • Yeah, it is totally a Dutch name. My husband is South African, and it is from the Dutch settlers who went there in the 18th century. In SA, the name sounds something like this – VAN = FUN, NIE = KNEE, KERK = This one has a bit of an accent to it so hard to write out.

        Thanks for asking!

  8. Hey Fenny

    Great write. And I love this 5 mins writing idea. Will have to try to remember to do this next week. Link it up at Monday Madness if you get change. I’d love the community to read it.

    Shah. X

    • Hi Shah,
      As always so positive and encouraging, thank you! I will link it up. I’d love for you to try it, it’s freeing and I was so pleasantly surprised to see the result!

Leave a Reply

