This too shall pass…

Photo credit ~  Dan4th

Since being diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder in January 2007 one could say that this has become my motto.  Not so much by choise,  because:

1)      Often when I feel ‘stuck’ in a mood I want to get out real bad and I can’t muster the patience to let it run it’s course.

2)      It is disrupting my life – it’s possible that I can’t do what I planned or have to cancel it all together;  I can’t finish all that I have set out to do or…

3)      The terrible mood-grip I can be in is so darn hard to handle that I actually can’t handle it.

4)      As much as I advocate and live by the conviction to not be a victim of my illness a master of it,  there are times that I positively hate having mood swings! (Shocker, I know.)

5)      It has changed my life and turned it upside down,  literally at times.

But if I apply this motto ‘this too shall pass…’,  I realise again that :

1)      Sometimes I really have to let it run its course,  because fighting it makes it all a lot worse.

2)      It’s okay to feel the way I feel,  even though I really don’t like it.

3)      It’s okay to be me – I am on a learning curve to accept who I am.  The whole me,  not just the Bipolar side,  mind you!

4)      It’s true that it will pass,  cuz that’s the nature of the illness.

5)      I need to learn to be kind to myself as I would to others and stop beating myself up.  (Anyone else struggling to do this???)

So,  the lesson I am learning is:  I better embrace *my* (((motto))) and make it really mine.

Even if it is at a snail’s pace.  Still,  snails eventually get where they are going🙂.

(And no, you didn’t hear a sigh.  No,  really.  It was barely audible,  you!)

What is the motto you live by?

Inspired by Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “This too shall pass…

  1. number 5… number 5… lol i am my own worst critic!! ahhhh i can understand a little how you feel as i have been suffering from “panic/anxiety” i know i am a prisoner in my own mind and i just need to get the key from myself and learn to deal… soooo much easier said then done.. hope you are having a good day!
    *waving,
    shelley🙂

  2. Shelley, thanks for stopping by! Yep, I’m sure you recognize some of this stuff. We might ‘know’ things in our head, but it’s hard work to have it come down to our hearts – isn’t it? But I think you’re doing a great job and we will get there – eventually🙂 Keep on going on!
    *waving back*😉

Leave a Reply

