Are you ‘defect’?

Jody Paterson, from the Times Colonist, raised the question of stigma in her article “Stigma blinds,  and destroys lives.”  It’s totally worth the read!

With her permission I quote:

If I sprained my ankle, I’d have no compunction about posting it on my Facebook page and waiting for the flood of caring comments.  Or writing about it in my column.

But what if I posted that I was staying home to work through a severe anxiety attack?  Or a rough period in my schizophrenia?  Or had just been diagnosed with bipolar disorder?

How would you respond?   Would you even post it?  I sometimes do, since I have decided to let stigma not hold me back.   Stigma is a label someone else sticks on me.  But I refuse to let the label stick.

I have been a missionary – voluntary social worker – abroad for over 12 years.   Since I am back in my home country people around me assume I am back for good.  I don’t feel called to tell them I will be going back abroad,   at the right time with the proper care for myself.

It is the assumptions that get to me.  No questions asked, there are people who assume they know this, that or the other.  I’d much rather have a proper conversation.   I’d love it if people will come up to me and ask me their questions.

That is what drove me to start a blog.  To find like-minded people, either with or without Bipolar Disorder.   People I can connect with and who understand the life I (strive to) live or those who have a desire to understand.

I also want to educate others as lack of knowledge makes blind.  I want people to know  what it is for me to live with it.   And that it is possible to live a fulfilled life.  That it is possible to follow my dreams.   Maybe I have to take a by-pass, but I don’t care as long as I get there!

Unfortunately, this doesn’t work when dealing with institutions.  When starting my blog,  I had to think hard about future employment.   Nowadays employers research the web to find more information on a possible future employee.  What would happen when they come across my blog?  It can easily stand in the way of me getting a job.

On the other hand, I decided that my blog will show how I deal with my Bipolar in a positive way and in my opinion that is a huge plus.  If a future employer thinks differently, though, I guess.

Another example is the world of insurance.   I thought for years I was insured for my funeral and was shocked to find out I wasn’t.   In the meantime I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder.   And met with the stigma it carries in the insurance world.  Oh, I can get insurance – at a much higher monthly payment.

As far as health insurance is concerned,   I am lucky to be living in the Netherlands.  A lot of the psychiatric care falls under a general law where the tab is paid by the insurance and or government.  However, with present budget cuts,  I wonder what will happen to our care.

I also wonder what will happen if I need to switch to an ex-pat health insurance,  when I will be living abroad again.

Like every group we stigmatize, the poor (or fill in any other group. Note by me) have become unworthy and shameful in our eyes. – Jody Paterson

It doesn’t make sense to stigmatize people if you look careful at the word stigma.   Two synonyms of stigma are ‘blemish’ or ‘defect’ according to the dictionary.

Who can claim to be without blemish or defect?

So why are people then stigmatized?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Are you ‘defect’?

  1. It’s so true- there is such a stigma in mental health issues, probably because it’s not something the medical world can see with an xray machine and fix. There are so many different variables. As a nurse, it’s so much harder to take care of a patient with multiple psych issues than a broken leg- because I can just give pain meds for the broken leg. The psych issues are so much harder to understand.

    • Yes, it is hard for people to understand – and I think you are right that’s also because it’s not visible. When people see me, they don’t ‘see’ a Bipolar Disorder walking past. So the expectations ‘to behave normally’ (whatever that is) are there. I also think that people are afraid of mentally ill people – hence the concept of craziness. They are strange, different, forever marked as ‘other’ – as Jody Paterson stated in her article. Education is a big part in taking away the misconceptions and stigma. Now to get people to listen lol
      Thanks for adding onto the post – I heart it🙂

Leave a Reply

