10 things about my Bipolar Disorder you didn’t know

1)     I am not sick!  Nor am I any more crazy than you!  (Are you sure? Hmm, actually, yeah.)  My brain might function differently than yours,  but other than that,  I am just… me.

2)     I can be sick, and/or indisposed,  at times,  when for one reason or another it is too hard for me to handle my mood swings or I end up in a particular nasty or difficult mood.

3)     Bipolar Disorder does not define who I am.  There is a whole lot more to me than swinging along on my mood-swing.

4)     There is so much to learn from all my moods,  as I experience a whole range of emotions that ‘normal’ people do not.  Yes, it’s definitely a tough road to deal with it on a consistent basis,  but hey,  is your life so easy-peasy?

5)     I don’t need to be ‘cured’ – I was born this way and I have not known anything different.  I might not recognize myself anymore…  Now, that is a scary thought!

6)     Even though I hate my meds and I’d like to chuck ’em out of the window from time-to-time,  I am med-compliant.   The consequences of doing so keep me from doing it.  No visit to the p-ward for me,  if I can help it,  thank you very much!

7)     Having regular consults with a psychiatrist doesn’t mean I am crazy.  The stigma it carries unfortunately doesn’t stick to me.  I like my guy!

8)     Because I have ‘talk-therapy’,  it has helped me deal with a lot of ugly stuff in my past,  I’m getting to know my real self and I am learning an awful lot in the process.  I just love my counselor!  (And no,  you can’t have his number,  I have sharing-issues🙂 )

9)     It’s really neat what I can accomplish when I am hypo manic!  Of course,  I need to keep it in check and thankfully I have some peeps helping me with that.  And some meds  (which I truly hate!)  to bring me down when necessary.

10) It’s okay to be me.  Well,  sorta.  Am on my way to self-acceptance.  Which includes ALL of me,  not just my ‘Bipolar-side’.

Disclaimer: Please,  note that this list reflects only me,  my view on & my experience with my Bipolar (Disorder) traits.
Also,  I have had 5 terrible,  difficult,  excruciating years behind me that brought me to this place with the help of some very important peeps.   This is how I see it right now,  which is subject to change🙂

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “10 things about my Bipolar Disorder you didn’t know

  1. I’m here from 31dbbb😉

    Very informative list and easy to digest. Nice post!

  2. Here from SITS! Great post. I am sending the link to a friend of mine! I like your humor!

    • Fenny

      Well, thanks so much Sarita! Feel free to share it with anyone you think might find it helpful or needs a different look on Bipolar. That’s luv I really like🙂
      I’ll hop over to your blog 2morrow – need to get 2 bed – got a bad case of flu😦

  3. Fenny this was a great, informative post!🙂 I actually know 2 other people with bipolar disorder and one is pretty badly off; the other is doing pretty well, but sruggles with taking meds (she’s slowly weaning herself off of them!). You are wonderfully dow to earth and put a great face on the disorder. I love reading what you have to say about it!

    • Fenny

      Lara, thanks for your encouragement. I really wasn’t sure where I was going with this post.
      Hope those 2 people will hop by and get into my blog, would really love to get connected with them!
      Meds suck – big time. Hope she is doing it with good p-doc assistance.
      I am blessed not to have delusions anymore and never had hallucinations. That would be truly difficult to handle, me thinks.

  4. I love your list. I especially love #10. I think self acceptance is something many people struggle with regardless of the personal challenges they may face. I know it is something I struggle with.
    On #4 . . . Do you ever wonder where the “normal” people live? I don’t think I have met one yet!😉

    • Fenny

      Rachael, you’re a woman after my own heart!!! You might like to read my post “Are you normal?” dated 12/04/2010 – I think you’ll like it😉 (I don’t know how I can set up a straight link from here, sorry)
      Shame that it is so hard to accept ourselves, eh? I think it is one of the keys to a happy life.
      I totally loved your list post! In fact, I didn’t get to comment on it, cuz it gave me the necessary brain wave for my own list post that I had been struggling with for 2 days! So, thanks for the help, lol!
      I like the humor in your approach of life. I’ll be a regular visitor!!

      • You are right. I read your “Are you normal?” post and I love it. I left a rather lengthy comment on it in fact.🙂
        Thank you for the complement. Happy to have you as a follower. I will be following you as well.

  5. I found you through the 31DBBB challenge. I am a new follower! This list was wonderful! It’s very informative and easy to read. I think that self acceptance is something that we all are dealing with, myself included!

    Stop by my site if you’d like!

    • Fenny

      Thanks Kimberley and welcome! Thanks for your encouragement. And yes, I am also working hard on my self-acceptance. I think there is a whole lot more to blog about that…..
      I am hopping over to your blog now!

Leave a Reply

