B-day, Borsh, St Nick…. followed by sleep!

Last weekend I spent with many friends and with the youth group of my church.  It was a lot of fun and I really enjoyed myself. 

Saturday afternoon I prepared Ukrainian borsh for twin-girl-friends of mine who were gonna celebrate their b-day Sunday afternoon and evening.  We have recently realized we know one another 25 years!!  Shock!!  (It makes me feel old, peeps,  seriously.  On the other hand:  another reason to celebrate which we definitely plan to do!)

With one of them I started college back in 1985.  Soon after I met her twin.  One and a half years later I moved in with my college friend.  How precious to have such longstanding and loyal friends.  We have gone through some major up and downs,  but here we are,  25 years and going,  and still loving one another to bits. 

In the evening at youth group we celebrated St. Nicholas – a typical Dutch and German national holiday where gifts are exchanged.  Usually we make rhymes for one another,  always teasing in a friendly way.  Also,  we used to ‘dress up’ our gifts to look like something else,  again to tease one another. 

One of the most popular thing to do was to make ‘poop’ from a store-bought type of cake we have.  You just add water and crumble it and maybe add some sirop to make it even stickier.  Inside the goo you hide the gift,  which is totally sellotaped,  so opening it is a total disaster.  Apart from those real ‘dirty’ jokes, depending on your creativity,  you can make anything related to that person.  Preferably something that has got nothing to do with the present.

Each person had bought a gift of € 5,- and made a rhyme.  Some were really good.  As all names had been written on little papers,  shuffled,  after which each had drawn one paper,  no one knew who had gotten who.  So while listening,  a lot of guessing went on.  After all gifts were unpacked,  I was impressed what useful things they had managed to buy one another for the € 5,-.  We made a round and everyone had a guess as to who had given them their gift.  That was a lot of fun,  some knew it exactly,  others didn’t have a clue.

Since I had officially joined the group after this evening was organized,  I was not a part of the gift exchange.  But that didn’t bother me.  I really enjoyed watching all the exchanges,  the relationships they have among themselves,  the teasing and laughter.  We had a good time indeed!

Sunday I helped my twin-girl-friends.  That was such a joy.  Since I have lived 15 years abroad,  I have missed so many joyful events and celebrations.  I also met some peeps that I don’t see too often and had some nice conversations.  Lovely!  The last ppl left about 11.30 pm and I helped clean up.  Then we chilled for a bit.  Finally I climbed on my bike while soft rain was falling and made my way home. 

In the past I would’ve gone to work the next day,  and the next, and the next…..  Yesterday I slept,  and slept,  and slept!!!  It’s no fair that something so enjoyable is so exhausting!!

It makes me wonder when and even IF I will ever get my previous energy level back.  Early 2006 I was first diagnosed with severe burn-out.  In actual fact,  looking back,  it had started Summer 2005.  So that’s over 5 years ago.  Shouldn’t I have recovered from that by now? 

Or maybe it is also related to the Seasonal Depression stuff.  After all,  these days I am making long nights.  Like about 10 hours.  Totally ridiculous.

Of course,  then there are those meds with their useless side effects of tiredness and the like.  Not much to do about that (apart from taking uppers!  ok, just joking🙂 )  I am afraid.  But I really am fed up with getting so exhausted.  I am still feeling it.  Don’t get me wrong – it was totally worth it.  I thoroughly enjoyed it,  which is not always possible for me depending on what curves my BD is throwing at me. 

But it would be so nice not to have to plan my meetings,  outings,  fun-things,  volunteer activities etc. in view of  (mostly my lack of)  energy and need of recuperation. 

Does anyone with BD and or SAD recognize this?  How do you handle it?  Any tips?

Borsh picture courtesy of www.liveinternet.ru
St. Nick picture courtesy of www.sintplaatjes.nl
Garfield picture courtesy of http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff237/mareesme

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “B-day, Borsh, St Nick…. followed by sleep!

  1. Wow. Good design. So no problems anymore?

    Check my blog here: http://bit.ly/eW7zep

    • Fenny

      Hoi Manuel!

      Leuk dat je een berichtje achter laat!! En dat je het een goed design vindt natturlijk. Ik heb er erg mijn best op gedaan. Nou… kan niet zeggen dat ik geen problemen heb. Waar we naar keken – de plug-ins – wordt niet door wordpress.com ondersteund. Oftewel, dan zou ik over moeten stappen op wordpress.org, en dat is een betaalde dienst, eheheh. Dus daar zat het in. Ik zou op den duur wel over willen naar mijn eigen domein naam. Maar dan heb ik een site beheerder nodig, hint, hint🙂
      Ga nu es kijken bij jou. Veel plezier met je opleiding. Als je genoeg geleerd hebt, heb ik een klusje voor je, hahaha🙂

Leave a Reply

