5 Minute Friday: Older!

Yet again I am joining The Gypsy Mama with 5 minute Friday.

I love to learn to write freely, learning to let the words flow and become real in what I write. It’s an awesome writer’s practice,  but what is more: I am learning something about me and my view of life every time I write this way.  So I wholeheartedly invite you to join us!

Below is explained how you can do exactly that.

But first:

Are you ready? Give me your best five minutes on:

Older…

Are you as excited as I am about getting older??

I simply love the life experience I now carry around with me.

I love that I have left my childhood, adolescence and upbringing behind! I have taken from it what was good, and am processing what wasn’t up to par.

I an excited at what life is still to bring. I can’t wait to get older and fulfil the dreams I have!

Looking back in five years time – remembering of where I was and where I got.

If the last five years are anything to go by – a whole lot will have c hanged and I will have grown immensely again.

I am so glad to have the past being me.

And yet I am fully aware that the past is part of my future. Yet becoming older means I have been able to give my abusive past a place and actually use some parts for something good.

It has grown empasthy and compassion in me. It has given me vision for who I want to help. It has given me a indifference for the mediocre. I will not settle for a mediocre life!

I can’t live life knowing others are suffering – I have to do something. This I count as gain.

I so many ways I like the person I am becoming. Despite the abusive past, despite all that has worked against me and still is, I have survived! And I am proud of it!

I am who I am today because of hard work in the past, because of hard work yesterday. And I will continue to work hard, to become a whole person, alive in every area of my being, stretching out helping hands to others, to come along side, knowing the aloneness and the struggle it takes to ‘grow out of it’.

The past is part of me, but the older I get, the less important it becomes, the more it gets integrated in ‘me’ and the more I use what I have learned.

I toast on getting older, day-by-day!

STOP!!!!!!!!

I am so sorry, I cheated a little. As I got caught up in the writing I lost track of time… Does that ever happen to you?

To paint your verbal picture and share it with us just:

  1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
  2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
  3. Get a little crazy with encouragement for the five minuter who linked up before you.
When you come back on Monday I will reveal the two blog awards I have received (so exciting!!!), including the bloggers I am awarding with the honor I received!!

Photo credit:  AnneCN

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “5 Minute Friday: Older!

  1. Wonderfully said. It sounds like have reached a place of being comfortable with your past, being in your present and looking towards the future. Sounds like a great place to be.

    • Well Midnight Rainbow, something insightful just happened, so that put a spring in my step. Which is wonderful!
      Besides that I am still working on trauma processing, but I am getting more and more confident I will get there, which is such anunbelievable feeling!
      As long as I make sure that I am literally in the right place – home – I am doing pretty well. This in itself is exciting for me!
      So, after 6 tough, desert and sometimes life threathening years, it is making such a change, I can hardly contain myself!
      Without losing reality, that I am not there yet. But it is ok. I am ok. And if I am not, I work on it again and again and again. Acceptance is key – but boy, that is hard work!
      Take care honey, you will get there too! I am sure of it!!! ;)

Leave a Reply

