Battling Bipolar: a poem

Mama’s Losin’ It

 

 

My mind is racing really fast

My mouth is trying to keep up

I hear myself going on and on

Not able to get the train to stop

But it’s always coming to a crashing halt

When in the abyss it does fall

 

Bruised and broken I am down

Gathering my shattered self

Where is my strength to start

The up-hill battle once again?

To crawl out from the slimy pit

I find myself the umpteenth time

 

Sometimes it takes a moment

Sometimes it takes a year

Other times it lasts forever

Other times it lasts not long

 

Some days I am happy

Some days I am blue

Other days find me yapping

Other days find me still

 

I am swinging right along

The ups and downs of all my moods

Thrilled one day and crushed the next

Or all together mixed

This is the norm by which I live

The cocktail of my life

 

Learning the tools of my trade

To create order in my brain

Where disorder normally rules

Is what I do each day

It gives a value to my life

That no one can explain!

Fenny a.k.a. The Crazy Rambler

04/06/2011

 

 

Writing prompt: What battle are you fighting?  Write a poem overcoming.

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Battling Bipolar: a poem

  1. You really get to the crux of the mood swings and the effects they have. I wrote a poem ages ago called Bipolar Distress about my experience of it – http://wordsinsync.blogspot.com/2011/03/monday-madness-week-2-poem-and-article.html Here if you should feel like looking it over. Shah .X

    • Thanks for your link, Shah. I think your poem flows beautifully and describes us really well!
      This is my first poem in English. As it was Mama Kat’s prompt, I thought to give it a try. Tickled that you like it :)
      I used to write Dutch poems a long time ago, but they are gone together with my diaries. Worst.Thing.Ever.

  2. This was really incredible… a poetically raw glimpse. Amazing…

    • *blush*, thanks so much for the compliment Misty!
      I am a fellow-lover of frozen yoghurt (the best I ever had was in Israel!!); pens, pencils and all things stationary; and Donald Miller books :)
      I’ll be back to visit your blog some more.
      Later!

  3. Here from Mama Kat’s. Thank you for sharing your poem.

  4. You describe the ups and downs, the swings so well. I don’t have it, but I have family members that do.

    • Thanks Vandyl! Especially since you know it as an outsider, I am glad it means something to you too!
      I am a fellow bookworm – in childhood books were my safe place and I could equally lose myself completely in a book. My family even teased me, offering sweets and such, but I was in another world, not aware of anything :)

  5. Visiting from Mama Kat’s!

    Good job on your poem. I am not familiar w/ Bipolar, but after reading your post, I feel I understand a little better.

  6. Hello Jennifer and thanks so much for the compliment!
    Have been perusing your blog and like it mucho. Hope to be back ;)

  7. i am so glad i stopped by on the linkup. you bravely and poetically put words to your struggle. I deal with depression and anxiety, and have never directly written it like you have, though I have done some fairly revealy poetry about bad days. Im glad to know youre out here, and really enjoyed this glimpse into your life :)

  8. Thanks Frelle! I bet you can relate though, as depression is very much part of my journey and anxiety takes up a lot of space at times too :(
    But you know what? By struggling through it, it really does give value to my life and from what I saw on your blog, it’s the same for you. I recognized quite a number of your list on todays post ;)

  9. m.

    Il y a 3 jours que mon medecin ma apris que j’étais bipolaire.
    Je n’etais pas surpris car on dirais je my attendais j’ai 23 ans, est je me sans diferent depuis je suis tout jeune, mes pensé ne cesse jamais, j’analyse tout, parfois la moindre chose me rend triste,agressif, heureux,malheureux,…..Je crois par compte que la vie continue……il faut se batte malgré tout,

    • Hi M.
      Thanks for visiting this blog, I hope it gave you some useful information and you recognized some things. I’d love it if you’d chime in and gave your perspective!
      I hope that you are happy to know what is going on in your brain, so you understand yourself more fully. I hope that the diagnosis is a relieve to you, as you have always known ‘something was up’. Now you know what, and you can move on.
      If you have any questions – please feel free to ask, either in th comments, the contact from on top or email!
      Take care, it will get better from here!

Leave a Reply

